The jury for the red dot design award has high-level expertise and is absolutely independent. Members of the jury for the “red dot award: product design 2011” are excluded from taking part in the competition.

Furthermore, the red dot jury comprises design experts of international repute, whose background allows them to consciously assess the special intercultural aspects of design.

The products are assessed in eighteen different groups. The differentiation in the product categories means that the expertise is even more focused, as experts who assess the entries are carefully selected for each individual product group. The jury teams appraise, test and rate the products in detail on location, based on criteria such as degree of innovation, functionality, self-explanatory quality or ecological soundness.
Consequently, the results in a category ultimately reflect the future of the respective industry in terms of design, and thus serve as a guide for manufacturers and designers worldwide.

The red dot jury 2011:

Prof. Masayo Ave, Japan

Manuel Alvarez Fuentes, Mexico

Ben van Berkel, The Netherlands

Gordon Bruce, USA

Shashi Caan, USA

Tony K. M. Chang, Taiwan

Dr. Kyung-won Chung, Korea

Mĺrten Claesson, Sweden

Sebastian Conran, Great Britain  

Prof. Martin Darbyshire, Great Britain

Stefan Diez, Germany

Prof. Lutz Fügener, Germany 

Prof. Renke He, China

Prof. Carlos Hinrichsen, Chile 

Daniel Huber, Austria

Prof. Dr. Florian Hufnagl, Germany

Tapani Hyvönen, Finland 

Guto Indio da Costa, Brasil

Gerald Kiska, Austria 

Prof. Cheng-Neng Kuan, Taiwan

Dr. Thomas Lockwood, USA

Prof. Ron A. Nabarro, Israel

Lyndon Neri, China

Wolfgang Meyer-Hayoz, Switzerland

Giuliano Molineri, Italy 

Marcello Morandini, Italy                                  

Ken Okuyama, Japan

Simon Ong, Singapur

Dirk Schumann, Germany

Britta Pukall, Switzerland

Takashi Tabata, Japan

Nils Toft, Denmark

Prof. Danny Venlet, Belgium

Vivian Wai-kwan Cheng, Hong Kong

Prof. Lu Xiaobo, China