Chris Bangle was pleased to receive the "Radius" challenge trophy
More than 1000 design experts, politicians, economists, and culture lovers, attended this year’s awards ceremony in the Essen Aalto Theater
Managing editor of the "WirtschaftsWoche", Uli Pecher, with juror Vivian Cheng Wai Kwan and Prof. Dr. Zec on stage
From left to right: Juror Nils Toft, Uli Pecher and Prof. Dr. Zec
The award speech for the award was held by Austrian architect Professor Wolf D. Prix


Creativity par excellence

The design industry looks back at a great event: The awards ceremony of the red dot award: product design 2007 on 25 June 2007 was attended by more than 1000 design experts, politicians, economists, and culture lovers, who congregated from all over the world to honour this year’s laureates in a festive setting in the Essen Aalto Theater. The Late Night Party in the red dot design museum then brought the event to a successful close.


Professor Dr. Peter Zec, founder of the red dot design award and President of the International Council of Societies of Industrial Design (Icsid) reported: “Never has the quality standard of the awarded products been as high as this year. The designers have accomplished great things. I am proud to, through the red dot, have this possibility to duly acknowledge these excellent performances.” Of the submitted 2.548 products, 666 were distinguished; of those, 43 additionally received the red dot: best of the best for outstanding design performance.

The highlight of the evening was the presenting of the travelling trophy radius. Every year, the trophy is handed to the winners of the red dot: design team of the year award, given to a design team that has set standards with continually innovative design work. This year the coveted trophy, already held by top companies such as adidas, Apple, LG, Nokia, Pininfarina, and Sony, went to the design team BMW Group under the direction of Chris Bangle. The award speech for the award was held by Austrian architect Professor Wolf D. Prix, after which the radius passed from last year’s laureate Sang Young Shin, Chief Designer of LG Corporate Design Center, to the new winning team. “Choosing the red dot: design team of the year was particularly easy this year,” said Peter Zec. “Under the direction of Chris Bangle, the BMW Group design team accomplished a great feat: namely, to significantly and uniquely shape car design of the beginning 21st century through consistent and solid brand management of BMW, Mini, Rolls Royce, and BMW Motorrad, and to persist on a path that, though not always easy, proved to be a true model of economic success.”

The evening’s cultural component presented guitarist Victor Smolski, who delivered an impressive performance of selected pieces from his oeuvre, as well as the Aalto Ballett Theater Essen, showing Tschaikowsky’s Sleeping Beauty with choreography by Stefan Lux.

After the awards ceremony, star chef Frank Rosin invited the winners and guests of honour to the traditional Winners Dinner. This was followed by the more casual Late Night Party, enjoyed by all until the early morning hours.

You can view more impressions from the festivities in the picture galleries:

» Picture gallery award ceremony

» Picture gallery winners

» Picture gallery exhibition and Late Night Party