Facts and figures of the "red dot award: product design 2009"





„red dot“ awards: 



"red dot: best of the best" awards:



"honourable mention" awards:



Awards ceremony:                29 June 2009, 6 pm in the Aalto-Theater, Essen,                                                          Germany

Special exhibition:                 30 June to 26 Juli 2009 in the red dot design

                                           museum, Essen, Germany


The jury of the red dot award: product design 2009:

·           Manuel Alvarez Fuentes, Mexico

·           Sybs Bauer, Designkunst, Germany

·           Gordon Bruce, Gordon Bruce Design LLC, USA

·           Prof. Rido Busse, Busse Design Ulm, Germay

·           Shashi Caan, USA

·           Tony K. M. Chang, Taiwan Design Center, Taiwan

·           Vivian Cheng Wai Kwan, Hongkong

·           Mårten Claesson, Co-founder of the Swedish design partnership

            Claesson Koivisto Rune, Sweden

·           Vincent Créance, MBD Design, France

·           Prof. Martin Darbyshire, Tangerine, Great Britain

·           Robin Edman, The Swedish Industrial Design Foundation, Sweden

·           Joachim H. Faust, HPP Hentrich-Petschnigg & Partner, Germany

·           Prof. Lutz Fügener, Fachhochschule Pforzheim, Germany

·           Makio Hasuike, Italy

·           Keith Helfet, South Africa, Great Britain

·           Prof. Renke He, Hunan University China, School of Design, China

·           Prof. Carlos Hinrichsen, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile

·           Prof. Dr. Florian Hufnagl, Die Neue Sammlung – Pinakothek der 

            Moderne, Germany

·           Tapani Hyvönen, Managing Director ED-design Ltd., Finland

·           Kristiina Lassus, Kristiina Lassus Studio, Italy

·           Prof. Soon-In Lee, Korea Institute of Design Promotion (KIDP), South 


·           Prof. Stefan Lengyel, Lengyel Design, Deutschland, Hungary

·           Prof. Ron A. Nabarro, Israel

·           Simon Ong, Kingsmen Creatives Ltd., Singapore

·           Dirk Schumann, Schumann – Büro für industrielle Formentwicklung,


·           Nils Toft, Partner and Managing Director of CBD A/S, Denmark

·           Danny Venlet, Venlet Interior Architecture, Belgium

The jury’s selection criteria:
Degree of innovation
Formal quality
Symbolic and emotional content
Product peripherals
Self-explanatory quality
Ecological soundness

The product categories of the “red dot award: product design”
1    Living rooms and bedrooms
2    Households and kitchens
3    Tableware
4    Bathrooms, spa and air-conditioning
5    Lighting and lamps
6    Gardens
7    Sport and games
8    Fashion and accessories
9    Watches and jewellery
10  Architecture and interior design
11  Offices
12  Industry and crafts
13  Life science and medicine
14  Automobiles, transport and caravans
15  Entertainment technology and cameras
16  Communication
17  Computers

Here you can download the information as PDF-file.