Top-class jury of the “red dot award: product design 2012”: International design stars decide on the products of the year

Even though the new year is only a few days old, the preparations for the adjudication of the latest products already run at full speed. Now, the renowned design experts who will get together in Essen, Germany in order to test, discuss and evaluate every single work, are set. This is a major contrast to other design competitions: Within the “red dot award: product design”, there is no preselection on the basis of images. The same conditions apply to all participants, because the jury members judge every object live and on-site.

“I’m very glad that we may welcome a superb jury in Essen, Germany, this year again. Its members are, among others, DMI president Karen Korellis Reuther from the USA and German top architect Hadi Teherani. In 2012, both of them debut as red dot jurors”, explains Prof. Dr. Peter Zec, initiator and CEO of red dot.

In a several days lasting evaluation process, thousands of designs will be examined within the competition’s 19 categories. The experts take various criteria in to the decision, which are, among others, the degree of innovation, functionality or the ecological compatibility. The jury is the heart of the competition: With their high-class expertise as well as their fair and professional eye, the international design luminaries guarantee the high quality of the “red dot award: product design” year by year again.

Besides red dot-experienced experts, such as Ken Okuyama (Japan), Prof. Lutz Fügener (Germany) or Vivian Wai-kwan Cheng (Hong Kong), red dot was able to win over further international design authorities to be part of the red dot jury this year for the first time. Among others, there is Prof. Ken Nah, Director of the International Design Trend Center (IDTC) from South Korea, as well as Hideshi Hamaguchi (USA), Director of Strategy at Ziba Design. Also new to the jury will be Prof. Rudolf Schricker (Germany) and Luisa Bocchietto (Italy). Likewise, the red dot design award jury for architecture has the star factor with its renowned architects Ben van Berkel (Netherlands), Hadi Teherani (Germany) and Steve Leung (Hong Kong).

Not only the disciplines of the design connoisseurs are widespread, but also their nationalities. Prof. Dr. Peter Zec: “In 2012, the participants of the ‘red dot award: product design’ may look forward to design luminaries from all over the world who will decide on the latest products with expert’s eye. This year again, from Asia to Europe to America, red dot unites international know-how at one place. The participants can be sure that their compositions will be evaluated by independent specialists who rank among the best in the varied design disciplines.”


Press contact:
Achim Zolke
Head of Corporate Communications
Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen
Gelsenkirchener Str. 181
45309 Essen
Phone: +49 (0)201 30 10 4-33
Mobile: +49 179 510 2821


» Download press release

» Overview of the red dot jury 2012