125 years Made in Germany (part 3) - these are the brands!

Until 4 March 2013, the exhibition “German Design Standards - From Bauhaus to Globalisation” narrates the success story of German design and describes it by numerous exhibits. In cooperation with the Neue Sammlung - The International Design Museum Munich, the exhibition in Hong Kong presents selected winning works of the red dot design award, but also iconic products which have become “German Design Standards”. In the third part of this series, further masters of German design will be presented.

Manufacturer: Walter Knoll AG & Co. KG, Herrenberg, Germany
Design: EOOS Design GmbH (Martin Bergmann, Gernot Bohmann, Harald Gründl), Vienna, Austria

Deen chair, Walter Knoll AG & Co. KG

A chair is a chair. And yet its conception is one of the most difficult tasks there is in design. Deen does so admirably. The volume is kept to the minimum; the shape is precise. Modern hydroforming endows the legs with their delicate elegance. The seat has hidden talents: the upholstery is invisible, but the comfort is noticeable. The flexible back makes the chair so snug. Simplicity is what makes it special.

Design: Helmut Bätzner, 1964/65
Manufacturer: Menzolit-Werke, Albert Schmidt GmbH, Menzingen, Germany
Owner: Die Neue Sammlung - The International Design Museum Munich

Bofinger chair, Helmut Bätzner

The ancient ancestor of all monobloc chairs, the first plastic chair to be massproduced in one single pressing process. The architect Helmut Bätzner developed a shape with maximum stability with the least possible quantity of material used, high elasticity and stacking capability. The chair was pressed into form in less than five minutes, and also only required a minimum amount of manual finishing.

» 125 years Made in Germany (part 2)

» 125 years Made in Germany (part 1)


Exhibition “German Design Standards – From Bauhaus to Globalisation“
6 December 2012 – 4 March 2013
HKDI Gallery
Hong Kong

Opening hours:
Mon, Wed - Sun: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Closed on Tuesdays and public holidays (except 25 December 2012, 1 January 2013 and 13 February 2013)