Dato' Professor Jimmy Choo

Combined design competence: the biggest red dot jury of all time finds the best international achievements in product design

A competition is only as good as its jury. Every year, red dot invites highly respected experts from the world of design to rate the international contributions to the competition and to award the best products. In 2013, the jury for the “red dot award: product design” will once again assess each piece of work individually and evaluate it with their expert eyes. For the “red dot award: product design”, there is no preselection based on an image. The same conditions apply to each participant, as the jury members assess each product or project live and on site.

38 jury members, all of whom are of high repute on the design scene, will take different criteria into account for their verdict in this year‘s competition. These include among others the level of innovation, functionality and ecological compatibility. red dot always acts and thinks in an international context. This means a huge mix of different nationalities, both amongst participants and jurors. As a result, the decisions taken reflect the global standards in the industry. In addition, the exchange between new jury members and those that have already experience of serving on the red dot jury will ensure an inspiring dynamic again in 2013. The panel of experts is already in the starting blocks and is looking forward with excitement to the entries to the “red dot award: product design 2013”.

The largest red dot jury of all time will assess many thousands of designs from the 19 competition categories in an evaluation process that spans several days, and will award the best products of the year. In addition to established red dot jury experts like Ken Okuyama (Japan), Prof. Stefan Diez (Germany) and Vivian Wai-kwan Cheng (Hong Kong), the 2013 jury will also welcome other international design gurus. Some of the new members include the shoe icon Dato‘ Professor Jimmy Choo and fashion designer Marcell von Berlin, who are making their debut appearance on the 2013 red dot jury and will enrich the panel with their expert knowledge.

Further new faces are celebrating their premiere as jury members for the competition: Belinda Stening from Australia, founder and editor of the industrial design magazine Curve, Oana Rades, who lectures at various architecture and design academies in the Netherlands, and product and interface design expert Andrea Finke-Anlauff. They are also some of the best talents in their respective design disciplines.

One of the very special aspects of the red dot design award is the fact that it is absolutely independent. No jury member is allowed to be an employee of an industrial firm that could potentially take part in the competition, and the competition is not funded by sponsors or by tax money. Prof. Dr. Peter Zec, initiator and CEO of the red dot explains: “The jury members selected are well-respected names in the design industry who are always on the cutting edge and carefully follow the most recent developments in their industry and contribute their expertise to the judging process. With their expert eye for details, the international specialists in their fields will guarantee the high quality of the “red dot award: product design” once again in 2013.

The names of the award winners will be announced officially on 1 July 2013 at the red dot gala, which has become a real tradition. Once again more than 1,200 guests from all over the world are expected to converge in the Aalto-Theater, Essen’s glamorous opera house, who together will celebrate the highlight of this year‘s “red dot award: product design” and its winners.

Jury for the “red dot award: product design 2013”

Andrea Finke-Anlauff (Germany)
Belinda Stening (Australia)
Cheng Chung Yao (Taiwan)
Danny Venlet (Belgium)
Dato' Prof. Jimmy Choo (Malaysia)
Dirk Schumann (Germany)
Dr. Luisa Bocchietto (Italy)
Gerald Kiska (Austria)
Gordon Bruce (USA)
Guto Indio da Costa (Brazil)
Hadi Teherani (Germany)
Hideshi Hamaguchi (Japan / USA)
Joachim Faust (Germany)
Jure Miklavc (Slovenia)
Ken Okuyama (Japan)
Marcell von Berlin (Poland)
Marten Claesson (Sweden)
Martin Darbyshire (United Kingdom)
Max Ottenwälder (Germany)
Nils Toft (Denmark)
Oana Rades (Netherlands)
Prof. Carlos Hinrichsen (Chile)
Prof. Dr. Alpay Er (Turkey)
Prof. Dr. Florian Hufnagl (Germany)
Prof. Herman Hermsen (Netherlands)
Prof. Ken Nah (Korea)
Prof. Lutz Fügener (Germany)
Prof. Renke He (China)
Prof. Ron Nabarro (Israel)
Prof. Stefan Diez (Germany)
Robert Stadler (Austria / France)
Robin Edman (Sweden)
Simon Ong (Singapore)
Stephan Hürlemann (Switzerland)
Tony Chang (Taiwan)
Vincent Creance (France)
Vivian Wai-kwan Cheng (Hong Kong)
Wolfgang K. Meyer-Hayoz (Switzerland)

Press contact:
Achim Zolke
Head of Corporate Communications
Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen
Gelsenkirchener Str. 181
45309 Essen
Phone +49 (0)201 30 10 4-35

» Download press release