The “red dot: agency of the year 2012”, 601bisang
Dr. Philipp Rösler, Prof. Dr. Peter Zec (red dot) and the Korean ambassador in Germany, S.E. Jae-Shin Kim, congratulate the “red dot: agency of the year 2012”
601bisang on the stage of the Konzerthaus Berlin
red dot juror Michel de Boer with Jung-Hye Lee and Kum-Jun Park from 601bisang as well as Prof. Dr. Peter Zec, red dot initiator and CEO
Julia Hofmann, Mercedes-Benz – “red dot: client of the year 2012” – in a TV interview
Who will enter the stage in 2013?
red dot juror and stardesigner Aaron Nieh

“red dot award: communication design 2013”: announcement of the jury

•    24 international industry experts
•    jury debut for star designer Aaron Nieh
•    participation period ends on 24 May

The jury for this year’s “red dot award: communication design” has been chosen. 24 international names in the creative industry will judge entries from all over the globe. Only the best entries will be awarded with the sought-after “red dot” in a total of 21 categories that include Advertising, Promotion and Graphic Design.

The exceptionally talented designer Aaron Nieh from Taiwan will join the jury for the first time this year. Nieh is a trendsetter who has made a name for himself beyond Asia’s borders thanks to his excellent work in the field of music and numerous publications and art projects. In his role as a red dot jury member, Nieh will also pay absolute attention to creativity and the right feel for trends and current developments: “I expect to see how the designers incorporate something artistic into their works that serve not only as a vessel that smartly convey a certain message. Besides, they will have to be cool. The works will also have to be compatible with the zeitgeist.”

2013 sees the return of Kelley Cheng to the jury, an expert in design and visual communication. She is one of the leading names in the design industry in Singapore. Cheng also considers the aspect of trends to be important: “Interactive media wise, I think this year app design and social media-led design will be a prominent force in competition. Print-wise, at most of the judging sessions, in the end it is often an unusual content that steals the judges’ hearts - as the good old mantra of design goes ‘Form Follows Function’”.

Prof. Dr. Linda Breitlauch will be one of those representing Germany on the jury. The professor for game design and experienced red dot jury member knows what the experts are looking for and what participants can expect: “The judges’ requirements on quality and innovation of the submissions are high. Thus, the red dot is not only a great honour, it gives the winners a special attention and the chance to extend their network.”

Prof. Dr. Peter Zec, initiator and CEO of red dot, is delighted to be able to welcome a particularly large jury this year: “The creative industry is always working on the cutting edge. In a branch that is becoming more and more complex, the makers are also using technologies that are more and more complex. This year’s 24-member jury is the largest that red dot has ever had for communication design. This is intended to pay tribute to the changes in the design industry and the growing international gearing of the competition.”

Every year, the “red dot award: communication design” invites renowned experts to decide which works should be awarded the industry’s international seal of quality. The jury assesses each individual piece of work live and on site in an unbiased manner. To ensure this, new industry experts join established red dot jury members each year in order to enrich the evaluation process with fresh input.

The participation period for the “red dot award: communication design 2013” ends on 24 May.

The red dot jury in 2013:
Aaron Nieh, Taiwan
Alain Leclerc von Bonin, Switzerland
Ali Bati, Turkey
Bettina Schulz, Germany
Catherine Corti, Switzerland
Don Ryun Chang, South Korea
Jack Renwick, UK
Jan Rikus Hillmann, Germany
Jean Jacques Schaffner, Switzerland
Kelley Cheng, Singapore
Malgosia Pawlik-Leniarska, Poland
Mehmet Çiftci, Turkey
Milo Heller, Germany
Nuno Gusmão, Portugal
Peter Philipp Weiss, Switzerland
Prof. Dr. Christof Rezk-Salama, Germany
Prof. Dr. Linda Breitlauch, Germany
Prof. Michel de Boer, Netherlands
Prof. Laurent Lacour, Germany
Rainer Hirt, Germany
Renne Angelvuo, Finland
Riccardo Capuzzo, Italy
Wolfgang Baum, Germany
Yiannis Charalambopoulos, Greece

Dates and deadlines:
Registration only possible until 24 May at!
Jury process: in June

red dot gala, Designers’ Night and vernissage of “Design on stage”
18 October 2013 in Berlin

“Design on stage” winners’ exhibition
19-20 October 2013 in Berlin

Further information at

PR Management:
Kristina Alexandra Halilovic
red dot design award
Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen
Gelsenkirchener Str. 181
45309 Essen
Tel. +49 (0)201 30 10 4-35


» Download press release