Hideshi Hamaguchi
Datuk‘ Professor Jimmy Choo


Renowned, international, independent: the Red Dot jury for 2014 has been announced!

Bit by bit, several thousands of products entered in the Red Dot Award: Product Design 2014 are arriving at the judging hall in the Ruhr region/Germany. Whether they come in a small package or a large container, the designs from vastly different areas of life are currently being prepared for their big moment. Design experts from all over the world will discuss each entry in a professional atmosphere during the jury session and assess its design quality. Only very few products are awarded the sought-after Red Dot or the even more seldom distinction “Red Dot: Best of the Best”.

This year, the decisions will be taken by the largest jury in the history of the Red Dot Award, with more than 40 internationally acclaimed design experts contributing their experience and design expertise over a three- day period to announce the laureates. Broken down into 23 competition categories, the products will be assessed in a detailed evaluation process where the experts use different criteria to reach their conclusion. These include among others the level of innovation, functionality and ecological compatibility. Other important criteria include formal quality, ergonomics and durability.

The jury – the heart of the Red Dot Award: Product Design – combines know-how from all over the world, comprising recognised, international design figureheads whose background allows them to assess consciously the special cultural aspects of design. Among other countries, the members come from Mexico, Italy, China, Sweden, Malaysia, Japan, the Netherlands, Turkey, Finland, Slovenia, the USA, Belgium and Germany.

The composition of the jury changes every year. This year, it includes tried-and-tested Red Dot jury members like the famous shoe designer Datuk‘ Professor Jimmy Choo and Hideshi Hamaguchi, the inventor of the USB drive. They will also be joined by Professor Stefan Diez, an authority on interior design, and architectural expert Professor Ben van Berkel, who will use their specialist knowledge to rate the best products. New additions to this year’s Red Dot jury include architect Vera Schmitz and jewellery designer Günter Wermekes, both of whom will enrich the panel with their expertise.

One special feature of the Red Dot Award: Product Design is that no designers employed in a manufacturing company are ever allowed to be on the judging panel. Professor Dr. Peter Zec, initiator and CEO of Red Dot explains: “The independence of politics and industry is one of the secrets of the success of the Red Dot Award. A designer who is charged with evaluating other companies – which are bound to be his or her competitors – on behalf of a certain brand can never be completely unbiased. This is why the Red Dot jury is made up solely of freelance designers and architects, design professors and expert journalists.”

The names of the award winners will be announced officially on 7 July 2014 at the Red Dot Gala, which has become a real tradition. More than 1,200 guests from all over the world are expected to converge in the Aalto-Theater, Essen’s glamorous opera house, who together will celebrate the highlight of this year’s Red Dot Award: Product Design and its laureates. Afterwards, the partygoers will as always move on to the unique Designers’ Night in the impressive Red Dot Design Museum at the World Heritage Site of the Zeche Zollverein Coal Mine Industrial Complex.

New products and projects can be registered for the Red Dot Award: Product Design only up until and including 5 February 2014. Information on taking part is available at www.red-dot.de/pd.

The jury for the Red Dot Award: Product Design 2014
Manuel Alvarez Fuentes (Mexico)
Prof. Martin Beeh (Germany)
Dr. Luisa Bocchietto (Italy)
Gordon Bruce (USA)
Tony K. M. Chang (Taiwan)
Vivian Wai-kwan Cheng (China)
Datuk’ Prof. Jimmy Choo (Malaysia)
Mårten Claesson (Sweden)
Vincent Créance (France)
Martin Darbyshire (United Kingdom)
Prof. Stefan Diez (Germany)
Stefan Eckstein (Germany)
Robin Edman (Sweden)
Hans Ehrich (Sweden)
Prof. Lutz Fügener (Germany)
Hideshi Hamaguchi (Japan)
Prof. Renke He (China)
Tapani Hyvönen (Finland)
Defne Koz (Turkey)
Jakob Lange (Denmark)
Kristiina Lassus (Finland)
Prof. Xiaobo Lu (China)
Wolfgang K. Meyer-Hayoz (Switzerland)
Prof. Jure Miklavc (Slovenia)
Prof. Ron Nabarro (Israel)
Prof. Dr. Ken Nah (Korea)
Raj Nandan (Australia)
Prof. Dr. Yuri Nazarov (Russia)
Simon Ong (Singapore)
Max Ottenwälder (Germany)
André Ribeiro (France)
Gerard Sanmartí (Spain)
Vera Schmitz (Germany)
Dirk Schumann (Germany)
Belinda Stening (Australia)
Aleks Tatic (Germany)
Nils Toft (Denmark)
Prof. Ben van Berkel (Netherlands)
Prof. Danny Venlet (Belgium)
Günter Wermekes (Germany)
Cheng Chung Yao (Taiwan)

Press contact:
Achim Zolke
Head of Corporate Communications
Red Dot Design Award
Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen
Gelsenkirchener Str. 181
45309 Essen
Tel. +49 (0)201 30 10 4-33

» Download press release