4,815 submissions have been examined by the design experts
Critical eye: Hideshi Hamaguchi
Renowned experts: Gordon Bruce, Danny Venlet, Prof. Ken Nah and Hideshi Hamaguchi
Prof. Stefan Diez
Datuk’ Prof. Jimmy Choo with his jury colleague Vivian Wai-kwan Cheng


The expert jury has chosen - the winners of the Red Dot Award: Product Design 2014 have been announced

The expert jury has chosen – the winners of the Red Dot Award: Product Design 2014 have been announced

-    4,815 entries from 53 countries
-    72 Red Dot: Best of the Best winners
-    40 international experts made up the largest-ever Red Dot jury

They tested, assessed, criticised and discussed. After a jury session spanning three long days, the team of experts had reached a consensus: the best products of 2014 have been chosen. A record number of designers and companies from all over the world took part in this year’s competition by submitting their innovations for the renowned design award that is the Red Dot. With 4,815 entries, the Red Dot Award: Product Design received the highest-ever number of entries and at the same time added some new countries to the list of participants.

In order to ensure a professional appraisal of the quantity and diversity of products in this year’s competition, the international Red Dot jury was increased in size once again to number 40 design professionals from 25 countries. There were 72 winners of the highest award in the competition, the Red Dot: Best of the Best. This award is seen as the ultimate accolade in the world of design, and only 1.5% of all entries won it in 2014.

Broken down into categories such as gardens, bathrooms and spas, consumer electronics, vehicles and urban design, the products had to prove their worth in several different areas: Some of the features the jury took into account during judging included functionality, level of innovation, formal quality and ecological compatibility. In 2014, the panel of experts awarded the Red Dot for excellent product design to 1,120 products and the Honourable Mention for especially refined detail solutions to 123 products. Thus 27.3% of all entries won an award, while 3,500 entries were unsuccessful.

Prof. Dr. Peter Zec, the initiator and CEO of the Red Dot Award, explains why the competition is constantly rising in significance at an international level: “The Red Dot Award: Product Design gives design professionals from all over the world a chance to measure themselves against each other. Year after year, this results in a higher level of design and also motivates the participants to enter their best products in the competition.” In addition, the Red Dot label is an excellent marketing instrument for the award winners. The competition’s own tools alone ensure a large reach, for example by including the laureates in the Red Dot Design Yearbook, in the Red Dot App and in the exhibitions of the Red Dot Design Museums. 

The glamorous awards ceremony for the Red Dot Award: Product Design 2014 will take place on Monday, 7 July 2014. The laureates of the Red Dot: Best of the Best, which is the highest award in the competition, will be honoured during the gala in Essen’s Aalto-Theater. Afterwards, the guests and the prize winners will celebrate together in the Red Dot Design Museum at the legendary Designers’ Night.

Facts and figures of the Red Dot Award: Product Design 2014
Entries 4,815
“Red Dot: Best of the Best“ awards granted 72
“Red Dot“ awards granted 1,120
“Honourable Mention“ awards granted 123

Red Dot Gala: 7 July 2014 at 6 p.m. in the Aalto-Theater in Essen/Germany
Special exhibition: 8 July - 3 August 2014 in the Red Dot Design Museum Essen, Germany

Further information available at www.red-dot.org/pd

The jury of the Red Dot Award: Product Design 2014

Manuel Alvarez Fuentes (Mexico)
Prof. Martin Beeh (Germany)
Dr. Luisa Bocchietto (Italy)
Gordon Bruce (USA)
Tony K. M. Chang (Taiwan)
Vivian Wai-kwan Cheng (China)
Datuk’ Prof. Jimmy Choo (Malaysia)
Vincent Créance (France)
Martin Darbyshire (Great Britain)
Prof. Stefan Diez (Germany)
Stefan Eckstein (Germany)
Robin Edman (Sweden)
Hans Ehrich (Sweden)
Prof. Lutz Fügener (Germany)
Hideshi Hamaguchi (Japan)
Prof. Renke He (China)
Tapani Hyvönen (Finland)
Defne Koz (Turkey)
Jakob Lange (Denmark)
Kristiina Lassus (Finland)
Prof. Xiaobo Lu (China)
Wolfgang K. Meyer-Hayoz (Switzerland)
Prof. Jure Miklavc (Slovenia)
Prof. Ron Nabarro (Israel)
Prof. Dr. Ken Nah (Korea)
Raj Nandan (Australia)
Jan Němeček (Czech Republic)
Prof. Dr. Yuri Nazarov (Russia)
Simon Ong (Singapore)
André Ribeiro (France)
Gerard Sanmartí (Spain)
Vera Schmitz (Germany)
Dirk Schumann (Germany)
Belinda Stening (Australia)
Aleks Tatic (Germany)
Nils Toft (Denmark)
Prof. Ben van Berkel (Netherlands)
Prof. Danny Venlet (Belgium)
Günter Wermekes (Germany)
Cheng Chung Yao (Taiwan)

The assessment criteria of the jury

•    Degree of innovation
•    Functionality
•    Formal quality
•    Ergonomics
•    Durability
•    Symbolic and emotional content
•    Product periphery
•    Self-explanatory quality
•    Ecological compatibility