The Red Dot jury 2014
Jury session
All works were discussed
Daniel Budiman
Thebe Ikalafeng
Peter Philippe Weiß and Jean Jacques Schaffner in a dialogue
Knut Hartmann, Renne Angelvou and Frank Swolfs
Rainer Hirt, Prof. Oliver Kartak and Jean Jacques Schaffner


Red Dot Award: Communication Design 2014 - competition for creatives honours this year's best

The winners of the Red Dot Award: Communication Design 2014 have been chosen, with the respected Red Dot jury selecting the year’s best entries from a total of 7,096 projects entered. Designers, agencies, freelancers and young professionals were able to enter their works in 16 categories. Out of these, the international panel of experts for the Red Dot Award: Communication Design gave awards to the newest marketing approaches, creative trends and advertising campaigns. The jury awarded a total of 569 Red Dots, and the winners will be delighted to receive this global quality label.

“By constantly adjusting our categories to the changing requirements of the market, our competition is always at the cutting edge. In more than 20 years, Red Dot has succeeded in creating a global platform where communication designers from all over the world can measure themselves against each other. In 2014, more participants than ever before showed their courage in having their creative projects judged by unbiased international experts. Winning a Red Dot thus gives the winners unparalleled visibility in all types of media”. This is how Prof. Dr. Peter Zec, founder and CEO of Red Dot, summed up the results of this year’s competition.

Thebe Ikalafeng from South Africa joined the jury for the first time this year. For the branding expert, excellent design solutions are already reflected in the details: “It’s not always about great identity and packaging design – but sometimes it's in the message or the structure. That’s what I look for in design – simplicity, clarity, insight and effectiveness.” Game One presenter Daniel Budiman also made his debut on the Red Dot jury. The video games expert summed up the jury session as follows: “Red Dot is experience, knowledge transfer and quality.”

From Corporate Design to Game Design or Publishing & Print Media – like every other year, the participants were allowed to let their creativity run free. But only a few met the high demands of the expert jury, with only 101 Red Dot: Best of the Best titles awarded this year. This award for top design quality was thus granted to just 1.4% of all entries. For the Red Dot: Best of the Best laureates, the excitement is not over yet. They will not find out which of them will be awarded the Red Dot: Grand Prix, the highest individual award in the competition, until the Red Dot Gala in the German capital on 24 October. The evening in the Konzerthaus Berlin is also especially significant for students and young professionals, as it is here, in the celebratory atmosphere in the capital city, where it is announced which of the young designers will win the Red Dot: Junior Prize with its prize money of EUR 10,000.

After the glamorous Red Dot Gala, the top names on the international design scene congregate in the E-Werk in Berlin. Everyone who is anyone on the international creative scene will attend the Designers’ Night there to celebrate this year’s competition winners and party into the early hours. This will also mark the opening of the “Design on Stage” winners’ exhibition, which shows all award-winning works in the Red Dot Award: Communication Design 2014. All of the Red Dot prize-winners also appear in the International Yearbook Communication Design 2014/2015 and in the online exhibition.

The facts and figures of the Red Dot Award: Communication Design 2014

Entries: 7.096
Countries: 49     

Red Dot 569
Red Dot: Best of the Best 101

Dates and events:

Conference „Define Game Design“: 23 October 2014, Café Moskau, Berlin
Red Dot Gala: 24 October 2014, Konzerthaus Berlin
Designers‘ Night: 24 October 2014, E-Werk, Berlin
Vernissage Winners' Exhibition: 25. October 2014, Museum für Kommunikation Berlin

Red Dot-Jury 2014:

• Alain Leclerc von Bonin, Switzerland 
• Ali Bati, Turkey
• Bettina Schulz, Germany 
• Chris Lee, Singapore     
• Clemens Hochreiter, Germany
• Daniel Budiman, Germany
• Frank Swolfs, Netherlands
• Gustavo Greco, Brasil 
• Holger Windfuhr, Germany
• Jack Renwick, Scotland         
• Jean Jacques Schaffner, Switzerland  
• Kelley Cheng, Singapore
• Knut Hartmann, Germany
• Niels Schrader, Germany
• Nuno Gusmao, Portugal
• Peter Philippe Weiß, Switzerland
• Prof. Dr. Linda Breitlauch, Germany
• Prof. Laurent Lacour, Germany
• Prof. Michel de Boer, Netherlands
• Prof. Oliver Kartak, Austria
• Rainer Hirt, Germany
• Renne Angelvuo, Finland
• Riccardo Capuzzo, Italy
• Thebe Ikalafeng, South Africa

Evaluation criteria:

• Quality of the design & aesthetics
• Originality & recognition
• Clarity & emotion
• Craftsmanship & haptics


1. Corporate Design Identity
2. Brand Design & Identity
3. Advertising
4. Packaging Design
5. Posters
6. Typography
7. Illustrations
8. Publishing & Print Media
9. Online
10. Apps
11. Interface Design
12. Film & Animation
13. Sound Design
14. Spatial Communication
15. Game Design
16. Social Responsibility

Further information:

PR management:
Verena Lissek
Red Dot Design Award
Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen
Gelsenkirchener Str. 181
45309 Essen
Tel. +49 (0)201 30 10 4-35

» Download press release

» Download press photos